Kesselring Prize


David Glanstein


Arnold Davis, Inge Ivchenko, Colleen Katz, Charlotte Kent, Linda Selman, Ava Warbrick, Marguerite Yaghjian
Artistic Advisor: Michael Parva, Artistic Director of the Directors Company of New York


   AND RECEPTION Honoring Playwright
James Ijames

Sunday, November 5, 2018

Reading + Awards 7:00 PM
Award Cocktail Reception to follow 8:30 PM               

The Kesselring Committee has selected James Ijames for the 2018 Kesselring Prize for playwriting, for his play Kill Move Paradise about four black men in a cosmic waiting room that was inspired by the growing number of shootings of unarmed black men and women. As this year’s Kesselring Prize winner, James shall receive $25,000 from the Club’s Kesselring Fund plus the opportunity to reside for two (2) weeks in our historic landmark clubhouse in order to develop his work.     
    In 2015 Ijames was the Kesselring Honorable Mention prize winner for his play The Most Spectacularly Lamentable Trial of Miz Martha Washington.  He was a 2015 Pew Fellow for Playwriting and the 2015 winner of the Terrence McNally New Play Award for WHITE.  He is a founding member of the playwright producing collective Orbiter 3 and an Assistant Professor of Theater at Villanova University.   
     The Kesselring Prize was established in 1980 by Charlotte Kesselring – widow of noted playwright and Club member Joseph Kesselring – to honor and support as yet not nationally recognized playwrights with an honorarium and indirect support towards development of their work. Among its past recipients are Lucas Hnath, Tony Kushner, Nicky Silver and Anna Deavere Smith. The 2018 Kesselring Prize Jury included John Guare, best known as the author of The House of Blue Leaves and Six Degrees of Separation; Lincoln Center Theater Dramaturg Anne Cattaneo; and  two-time Pulitzer Prize winning playwright and screenwriter Lynn Nottage whose plays include 2017 Pulitzer Prize winner Sweat.     
     This year’s Kesselring Prize shall be presented at an awards ceremony on November 5, 2018, at 7:00 PM.  It shall include staged readings of selected scenes of James’s plays directed by Kesselring Prize Artistic Advisor Michael Parva of The Directors Company. A reception shall follow the awards ceremony at 8:30 PM. 

There is no charge for the 7:00 PM awards ceremony and reading.

An award cocktail reception follows the awards ceremony and reading, featuring wine and prosecco, passed hors d’oeuvres, an antipasto display, featuring sliced meats, assorted cheeses and crudités, as well as a Chef’s display of decadent desserts.

$70 (all inclusive) for NAC members and their guests.
RSVP: 212-477-2389 or

Non-members and guests may purchase tickets via Eventbrite. Click here.

**There is a 48-hour cancellation policy for this event and please note that the bar and dining room will be closed, except for attendees of the Kesselring Ceremony.

  • Kesselring Prize Winners
    • Kesselring Prize Winners

      2017 – Lauren Yee
      2016 – Lindsey Ferrentino
      2015 – Lucas Hnath
      2009 – Rajiv Joseph & David Adjmi
      2007 – Jordan Harrison
      2006 – Mark Schultz
      2005 – Deb Margolin
      2004 – Tracey Scott Wilson
      2003 – Bridget Carpenter
      2002 – Melissa James Gibson
      2001 – David Lindsay-Abaire
      2000 – David Auburn
      1999 – Heather McDonald
      1998 – Kira Obolensky
      1996 – Naomi Wallace
      1995 – Amy Freed & Doug Wright
      1994 – Nicky Silver
      1993 – Anna Deavere Smith
      1992 – Marion Issac McClinton
      1991 – Tony Kushner
      1990 – Elizabeth Egloff & Mel Shapiro
      1989 – Jo Carson
      1988 – Diane Ney
      1987 – Paul Schmidt
      1986 – Marlane Meyer
      1985 – Bill Elverman
      1984 – Phillip Kan Gotanda
      1983 – Lynn Alvarez
      1981 – Cheryl Hawkins
      1980 – Susan Charlotte

      Honorable Mention / Cranefield Awards

      2015 – James Ijames
      2009 – Jenny Schwartz & Alvin McCraney
      2007 – Will Eno, Rinne Groff, Marcus Gardley
      2006 – Bruce Norris
      2005 – Tanya Barfield
      2004 – John Belluso
      2003 – Lynn Nottage
      2002 – Lydia Diamond
      2001 – Dael Orlandersmith
      2000 – Jessica Hagedorn
      1999 – Stephen Dietz
      1998 – Erik Ehn
      1997 – Kira Obolensky & Edwin Sanchez
      1996 – Nilo Cruz
      1993 – Han Ong
      1992 – Jose Rivera
      1991 – Quincy Long & Scott McPherson
      1990 – Howard Korder
      1989 – Keith Reddin
      1988 – Jose Rivera & Frank Hogen
      1987 – Januzsz Glowacki
      1986 – John Leicht
      1985 – Laura Harrington
      1983 – Constance Congden
      1981 – William Hathaway
      1980 – Carol Lashof

  • Kesselring News
    • Kesselring Corner

      • Hold the date for the 2018 Kesselring Prize Ceremony,  Reading and Reception Monday November 5,  2018

      Kesselring Prize Winners in the News

      2017 Kesselring Prize winner Lauren Yee won the 2018 Horton Foote Prize for new playwriting for her work “Cambodian Rock Band” which will be performed in 2019 at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and the Victory Garden Theater in Chicago. 

      Kesselring Prize Judge Lynn Nottage has written the book for a new musical “The Secret Life of Bees” which will have its world premiere at the Atlantic Theater Company in May and June 2019.