Paul Schwendener

Role in furthering the NAC Mission

The Music Committee of the National Arts Club enjoys an long and illustrious history of presenting world-class classical and jazz artists as well as extraordinary emerging talent.
The Committee has honored dozens of legendary artists with the Club’s Medal of Honor, including Placido Domingo, Marilyn Horne, Barbara Cook, Wynton Marsalis, and Leonard Bernstein.

In addition to presenting a regular series of concerts in the Grand Gallery, this season the Committee focuses on a group of start-up opera companies in New York, offering performance opportunities to the young singers, designers, dancers, and directors who are changing the way opera is presented in our city.

The Music Committee collaborates with other committees to highlight musical elements in other art forms. One of our most popular programs was an event with the Literary Committee in which we presented soprano Amy Burton and pianist John Musto singing music of Kurt Weill, interspersed with readings by the author of new book about Weill and his creative partner Bertolt Brecht.

The Music Committee also functions as a resource for the Club’s management when engaging musical talent for major NAC events such New Year’s Eve, the Red Ball, and Opening and Closing Nights.

We welcome interest from NAC members who share a love of music, and particularly those with connections or experience in the music world.

If you are a member of The National Arts Club and are interested in joining our committee, please email us at

  • Upcoming Events
  • Medal of Honor Recipients
    • 2016    Mr. Alan Gilbert
      2012    Jazz at Lincoln Center
                  and Mr. Wynton Marsalis
      2011    Mr. Paddy Moloney
      1994    Mr. Itzhak Perlman
      1993    Mr. Placido Domingo
      1992    Mr. James Levine
      1991    Mr. Gian Carlo Menotti
      1990    Mr. Zubin Mehta
      1989    Miss Marian Anderson
      1988    Mr. Isaac Stern
      1987    Mr. Benny Goodman
      1987    Mr. Gerard R. Schwartz
      1986    Ms. Frederica von Stade
      1985    Mr. Morton Gould
      1984    Mr. Martin Bookspan
      1983    Mr. Schulyer Chapin
      1982    Mr. Amyas Ames
                  and The New York Philharmonic
      1981    Mr. Gunther Schuller
      1980    Mr. Charles Wadsworth
      1979    Mr. Robert Sherman
      1978    Mr. Avery Fisher

        1977    Mr. Arthur Fiedler
      1976    Mr. Jack Beeson
      1975    Miss Alice Tully
      1974    Mr. Van Cliburn
      1973    Sir Rudolf Bing
      1972    Mr. Edward Cramer, BMI
      1971    Dr. George F. Seuffert
      1971    Mrs. Jouett Shouse
      1970    Dr. Peter Mennin
      1969    Mr. Richard Rodgers
      1968    Mr. Leonard Bernstein
      1967    Mrs. Clifton J. Muir, NFMC
      1966    Mrs. Lytle Hull
      1966    Mr. Richard Korn
      1965    Mr. Stanley Adams, ASCAP
      1964    Dr. William Schuman
      1963    Mme. Olga Koussevitsky
      1963    Mr. Paul Creston
      1962    Dr. Howard Hanson
      1961    Mrs. August Belmont
      1960    Mr. Thomas Scherman
      1959    Mrs. Minnie Guggenheimer
      1958    Mr. Julius Rudel
      1957    Dr. Herman Neuman

  • Past Events