Nicholas Lowry

Role in Furthering the NAC Mission

To provide a nexus for members to recognize, support and encourage excellence in the visual arts. The Fine Arts Committee is supported and complimented in this mission by the Exhibitions Committee and its chair Dee Shapiro as well as the Curatorial Committee and its chair Nicholas Lowry who can be reach at

The Curatorial Committee in particular works with a professional curator to oversee the preservation, documentation and exhibition of The National Arts Club Permanent Collection. 

If you are a member of The National Arts Club and are interested in joining our committee, please email us at

Recently Restored Artwork

Louis F. Berneker, Vanity, oil on canvas laid on board – new frame
Edmund Greacen, The Feather Fan, by 1919, oil on canvas – painting conservation
Cover of Ladies Home Journal, 1 March 1911, featuring a reproduction of Harry W. Watrous’s Some Little Talk of Me and Thee There Was – new frame
Philip Little, An Upland Meadow, 1917, oil on canvas – painting conservation
Waldo Peirce, Interior with Mrs. Peirce Sewing, ca. 1916, oil on board – new frame
Reform and Better Times, campaign poster for Samuel J. Tilden – new frame with funds provided by Rebecca Evan-Zohar
James Abbott McNeill Whistler, The Little Putney, No. 1, 1879, etching - new frame

Exhibiting Artist Membership

The "Exhibiting Artists Members" (aka EAM), is a group of artists selected to Exhibiting Artist Membership through a juried application process. You must be a member in good standing of The National Arts Club in order to be considered for membership. Non-members need not apply. Please download an application here and submit it to

The 2017 EAM Prospectus is now available and can be downloaded by clicking here.
Please note that this is an editable PDF file so may be filled out and returned simply by using Adobe Acrobat Reader.

  • Upcoming Events
    • January 19 - The National Arts Club Medal of Honor for Achievement in Fine Arts honoring Faith Ringgold (members-only event)
  • Medal of Honor
    • 1958 – John C. Johansen, NA

      1959 – Mrs. Eleanor Roosevelt

      1960 – Paul Manship, NA

      1961 – Senator William Benton

      1962 – Malvina Hoffman, NA

      1963 – John Koch, NA

      1964 – Charles A. Aiken

      1965 – Salvador Dali

      1966 – Chen Chi, NA

      1967 – Norman Kent, NA and Ogden Pleissner, NA

      1968 – Isabel Bishop, NA

      1969 – Tore Asplund, NA and Frank Bensing

      1970 – John Canaday

      1971 – Eric Larrabee

      1972 – J. Carter Brown

      1973 – Louise Nevelson

      1974 – Eric Sloane, NA and Thomas Hart Benton, NA

      1975 – Jose de Creeft, NA

      1976 – R. Buckminster Fuller, NA

      1977 – Stewart Klonis and The Art Students League

      1978 – Xavier Gonzalez, NA

      1979 – Raphael Soyer, NA

      1980 – Clement E. Conger

      1981 – I.M. Pei, NA

      1982 – Betty Parsons

      1983 – Robert Motherwell

      1984 – Alice Neel, NA

      1985 – James Brooks, ANA

      1986 – Red Grooms, ANA

      1987 – Louise Bourgeois, ANA

      1988 – George Segal

      1989 – Robert Rauschenberg, NA

      1990 – Will Barnet, NA

      1991 – Norman Rockwell Museum

      1992 – Christo

      1993 – Jacob Lawrence

      1994 – Roy Lichtenstein

      1995 – Marisol

      2000 - Nam June Paik

      2001 - Frank Stella

      2002 - Dale Chihuly

      2005 - Chuck Close

      2006 - James Turrell

      2008 - James Moody

      2009 - Ed Ruscha

      2014 - Ilya and Emilia Kabakov

      2015 - Robert Wilson

      2017 - Faith Ringgold

  • Past Events